Cultural Capital of Switzerland

Basel is nicknamed the “cultural capital of Switzerland“. The city lives and breathes culture, and promotes and celebrates the arts. Despite its small size, Basel has an exceptional cultural offering. Many of its institutions and events enjoy an international reputation.

A feast for the eyes …

The city’s almost forty museums display visual arts from antiquity to the present. The prestigious exhibitions hosted by Fondation Beyeler, the Kunstmuseum (Museum of Fine Art) and Antikenmuseum (Museum of Ancient Art) draw international attention. The quality of the exhibitions was also recognised by the respected art critics of London-based newspaper 'The Times' who nominated the Kunstmuseum Basel as the fifth best museum in the world in 2013. The Fondation Beyeler is also represented in the ranking at 35th place. But art is not limited to the indoors. On a stroll through the city, there is something to admire around every corner: “Intersection” by Richard Serra, Jean Tinguely’s “Carnival Fountain” and Bettina Eichin’s “Helvetia” are just a few of the many works of art to be discovered.

… and ears

When your eyes have had their fill, there still remains plenty to listen to. The internationally renowned symphony orchestra, the chamber orchestra and the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (an institute of the Musik-Akademie) account for Basel’s reputation as a centre for classical music. But lovers of jazz, rock or pop will also find something to suit their taste at the many concert venues.

Spellbound

“Aida”? “One of a Kind”? Or “The Wild Duck”? Theater Basel captivates the imagination with drama, opera and ballet. It is in fact the largest theatre in Switzerland that features all three genres. In 2009 and 2010, it was named “opera house of the year”.
Basel also has a thriving independent theatre scene. And finally, those who prefer the screen to the stage will find a film to suit their taste, whether it’s the latest blockbuster, art-house cinema, or a timeless classic.

Visionary architecture

Basel is considered a mecca for architecture aficionados. Buildings by famous architects greet the visitor at every turn. Fondation Beyeler by Renzo Piano, for instance, Herzog & de Meuron’s Schaulager or the banking building (initially belonging to UBS, today home of the Bank for International Settlements) by Mario Botta.

Further Information

Capitale culturelle de la Suisse

Bâle est aussi surnommée «capitale culturelle de la Suisse» car cette ville vit, crée, promeut et célèbre la culture. Sur un périmètre restreint, l’offre culturelle de niveau international est d’une densité exceptionnelle.

Pour l’œil …

Près de quarante musées bâlois présentent le meilleur des arts plastiques, de l’Antiquité à l’époque contemporaine. Les expositions spéciales de très haut niveau organisées par la Fondation Beyeler, le Kunstmuseum et l’Antikenmuseum font parler d’elles loin à la ronde. La qualité des expositions a également été reconnue par les critiques d'art renommés du journal londonien «The Times», qui ont placé le Kunstmuseum Basel au cinquième rang des meilleurs musées du monde en 2013. La Fondation Beyeler figure également dans ce classement à la 35ème place. Les arts plastiques sont également présents hors des musées. Il suffit de se promener dans la ville pour les découvrir dans l’espace public: «Intersection» de Richard Serras, la «Fasnachtsbrunnen» de Tinguely et «Helvetia» de Bettina Eichin ne sont que trois exemples des nombreuses œuvres d’art que l’on découvre en flânant dans les rues. 

… et pour l’oreille

Bâle est une ville qui sollicite la vue mais aussi l’ouïe. Elle doit en effet sa réputation de haut-lieu de la musique classique à des formations de renommée internationale telles que l’orchestre symphonique, l’orchestre de chambre et la Schola Cantorum Basiliensis de l’Académie de musique. Mais elle ne se limite pas au classique, les amateurs de jazz, de rock et de pop trouveront sans difficulté un concert qui les intéresse dans l’une des salles de la ville. 

Envoûtement et enlèvement

«Aida»? «One of a Kind»? ou «Lieblingsmenschen»? Le Theater Basel est la plus grande structure pluridisciplinaire de Suisse mettant à l’honneur l’opéra, la danse et le théâtre. Il a été élu «Opéra de l’année» en 2009 et 2010. La scène théâtrale libre propose elle aussi d’intéressants programmes. Bâle sait également contenter tous les passionnés du grand écran. Des blockbusters aux séries classiques, en passant par le cinéma d’auteur – chacun trouvera un film à voir.

L’art de la construction

Bâle est considérée comme la Mecque de l’architecture. Se promener dans la ville, c’est découvrir peu à peu des trésors de l’architecture contemporaine. Par exemple, la Fondation Beyeler de Renzo Piano, le Schaulager de Herzog & de Meuron ou la banque de Mario Botta (ex UBS, aujourd’hui BIZ).

Informations supplémentaires